Engine Ground Run Authorization

Effective Date: 1 December 2006

Version in Effect: 2 (revised 1 September 2011)

Reference: TAM Part 1, Chapter 4, Annex C

OPI / Telephone: DTAES 4-5 / 819-939-4757

1.   Purpose

1.1.   This Technical Airworthiness Authority (TAA) Advisory provides clarification and guidance regarding the standards governing the Department of National Defence (DND) requirements for Engine Ground Run Authorizations subject to periodic requalification, testing or ongoing demonstration of competency by practical demonstration of a task.

1.2.   This TAA Advisory is not mandatory, nor does it constitute a regulation. It describes a means acceptable to the TAA, but is not the only means to demonstrate compliance with the regulation(s). If you choose to use this TAA Advisory, then all the important aspects of it must be followed.

2.   Applicability

2.1.   The TAA Advisory is applicable to all organizations seeking accreditation as a Maintenance Organization (AMO) by the TAA and to the operation of DND/CAF aircraft during all facets of Ground Engine Run-ups by civilian personnel.

3.   Related Material

3.1.   Definitions:

  1. Requalification: a retest or practical demonstration of competency to ensure the Authorization holder is still able to perform complex and demanding tasks in an efficient and safe manner.
  2. Recertification: either a scheduled renewal of an Authority where an expiry date is attached at the time of issue, or an unscheduled renewal due to a requirement placed on an Authority that requires recency to be demonstrated in order for the privilege to remain valid.

3.2.   Regulatory References:

3.2.1.  Technical Airworthiness Manual (TAM)

  1. Part 1, Chapter 4, Section 2, Standard 1, paragraph 2.j (2) and following Advisory Note;
  2. Part 1, Chapter 4, Section 2, Standard 1; and
  3. Part 3, Chapter 1, Section 2, Standard 8, paragraph 1.b. Advisory Note.

3.2.2.   C-05-005-P03/AM-001, Part 7 – Maintenance Activity Authorization; and

3.2.3.   1 Canadian Air Division Orders Vol. 6, 6-303.

4.   Discussion

4.1.   Acceptable Means of Compliance. The following pre-requisites are to be satisfied prior to receiving the initial Engine Ground Run authorization:

  1. be a holder of a valid Aircraft Certification Authority (ACA) (Level A equivalent to AME within DND/CAF) or Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME);
  2. have successfully completed a Type Course on the subject aircraft with six months of experience on the aircraft type;
  3. hold a valid Restricted Radiotelephone Operators License; and
  4. have successfully completed the initial Engine Ground Run course acceptable to the TAA.

4.2.   The Engine Ground Run authorization requires requalification, recertifying and demonstration of competency on a periodic basis as defined below. Training will consist of Engine Runs and Emergency Procedures. An acceptable engine ground run-up authorization system must take into consideration the following elements:

  1. qualified and authorized Assessors/Evaluators will do the recertification. They will forward their recommendations to the person responsible for the assignment of authority for ground engine run;

NOTE: The person responsible for the assignment of authority would normally grant the initial authorization to an individual that requires recertification. However, an authorized assessor/evaluator may recertify the existing authorization to this individual when this latitude has been defined within the organization's Airworthiness Process Manual. When authorized by an assessor/evaluator, the same person shall sign for the recommendation authorization’s recertification.

  1. qualified and authorized Assessors/Evaluators are subject to the experience, recency and requalification requirements as stated in paragraph 4.1.
  2. it shall be necessary to demonstrate recency by executing a minimum of one complete engine run in the preceding three-month period;
  3. recertification shall be accomplished every six months by qualified and authorized assessors/evaluators;
  4. requalification shall be carried out every 18 months (Regulatory Reference 3.2.3) and will include practical testing of emergency procedures by use of a simulator, when one is available. Any alternate means for training (i.e., oral examination) on the emergency procedures must meet the requirement of Regulatory Reference 3.2.3., paragraph 5(b) and be approved by the TAA;
  5. in the event that an authorization held by an individual does not meet the re-qualification, recertification or recency requirements, as defined in paragraphs 4.2.c., d. and e., the authorization will be rescinded and declared void. The holder will be informed that they may not exercise the privileges of the authorization. This situation may be due to an absence, a temporary move to another area of responsibility or inability to demonstrate the desired level of competency;
  6. authorizations may be reinstated when requalification, recertifying, or recency requirements have been satisfied using the appropriate re-training, re-testing or check procedure. Recommendation for reinstatement must be sent to the person responsible for the assignment of authority;
  7. organizations will have a procedure to track the granting, rescinding, recertifying, recency and simulator requalification of authorization holders. The procedure will ensure that authorizations do not lapse; and
  8. all engine runs will be logged using a Run-up Log Sheet. Training will be recorded on a Run-up Test and Evaluation Checklist. Run-up Log Sheets will be forwarded to the Person Responsible for Assigning Authority (PRAA).

4.3.   Processes and Records will include:

  1. a means to maintain a positive control of each individual authorization status (i.e., engine run completed within the preceding three months, recertification due date and when completed, emergency procedures testing due date when completed, individual recommending and authorizing, authorization that have been rescinded and those that are active);
  2. a process that voids authorizations that do not meet the recency requirements at time of application;
  3. the name of the instructor or assessor/evaluator who administered the test;
  4. the results of the test documented in a way to meet the requirement stipulated at paragraph 4.2.h.;
  5. a process for each individual to acknowledge the status of their privilege; and
  6. an authorized individual responsible for the management of the system and a retention procedure that archives the records for 5 years after the Authority Holder leaves the organization.

Top of page