Operation LIMPID

Operation LIMPID is the routine domestic surveillance and presence in Canada’s air, maritime, land, space, and cyber domains. Through these activities, the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) seeks to detect threats to Canadian security as early as possible.

The Task Force

Due to Canada’s geography and distinct environment in each area, Op LIMPID operates within pre-existing task forces and agreements.

Op LIMPID leverages the capabilities of the Canadian Armed Forces services and other CAF groups:

  • The Royal Canadian Navy provides maritime domain awareness.
  • The Royal Canadian Air Force, as part of the Canadian NORAD Region provides aerospace domain awareness.
  • Land domain awareness is provided by the Canadian Joint Operations Command’s Regional Joint Task Forces’ liaisons with Provincial emergency organizations, and with additional support provided by the Canadian Rangers.
  • The Canadian Space Operations Centre coordinates the dissemination of space domain awareness information.
  • Cyber domain awareness is coordinated by the Canadian Forces Network Operations Centre.

Surveillance Areas


Joint Task Force Atlantic (JTFA) Surveillance Area

JTFA is responsible for leading continental operations across Atlantic Canada, including Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, the region’s contiguous waters, and its airspace. This area of responsibility of over 4.2 million square kilometres stretches out 1,224 kilometres east of Gander, Newfoundland, into the Atlantic Ocean.


Joint Task Force Pacific (JTFP) Surveillance Area

JTFP is responsible for all Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) operations in the province of British Columbia and its western and southern air and maritime approaches. This area of responsibility encompasses over 4.4 million square kilometres, and reaches 2,075 kilometres west of Vancouver Island into the Pacific Ocean.


Joint Task Force North (JTFN) Surveillance Area

This region includes theNorthwest, Yukon, and Nunavut Territories. For maritime operations, JTFN’s surveillance area extends to the North along Greenland’s territorial borders, 12 nautical miles from the shore to the pole. In the west it extends to the border of Yukon and Alaska. JTFN’s maritime region also includes Hudson Bay, Ungava Bay and James Bay, including all islands within those bodies of water. This totals nearly 8.8 million square kilometres of responsibility.


Joint Task Force West (JTFW) Surveillance Area

JTFW is responsible for leading continental operations throughout the provinces of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba, including their territorial waterways. It also has a supporting role for maritime operations in Hudson Bay. This area comprises more than 1.9 million square kilometres.


Joint Task Force Central (JTFC) Surveillance Area

This region includes the Province of Ontario, plus the National Capital Region delineated by the Gatineau Police region of jurisdiction. The JTFC maritime region is the Canadian portion of the Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence River Valley up to and including Cornwall at the Seaway International Bridge. The total area of responsibility is 1.9 million square kilometres.


Joint Task Force East Surveillance (JTFE) Area

JTFE is responsible for leading continental operations throughout the Province of Quebec, including its territorial waterways. Quebec is Canada’s largest province in terms of landmass and its second largest in terms of population, with an area of responsibility nearly 1.5 million square kilometres in size.

Date modified: